Skip to content

QOTD – Life Is Too Short To Not Do Things You Are Excited About

December 17, 2011

Why do consulting?

Consulting is for you if you are a risk averse person. There’s a nice path of progression, you have good working+living conditions. If you are someone who constantly needs validation, you will be happy in consulting. If you don’t know what you are passionate about (yet), consulting is good for that too.

Even though you work on interesting problems, you don’t learn as much as you would in a live environment.

Why did you leave XYZ to do your startup? And a hi-tech startup at that?

I was SO bored working @ XYZ that I decided to do the most radical thing I could possibly do. The internet is a platform through which you can easily achieve hyper-growth, and see the world change. It’s fun. I knew it’s what I wanted to do.

It’s all about how much of a risk-taker you are, and whether you believe in your ability to succeed and go off the beaten path. You have to ask yourself, in your heart of hearts, what would you be happy doing? If you want a safe path or stamps on your passport, go for consulting – there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that.

I don’t believe in “tracks” in life. I also don’t think that people judge others purely on money anymore (btw, don’t think you will get rich doing a startup, since you most certainly won’t).

I get excited about building things, and I dove into that. Life is too short to not do things you are excited about.

This is from my conversation with someone who was a non-technical major, did consulting at one of The Big Three for two years, then left to do his own hi-tech startup – which he later sold to a major Silicon Valley firm.

No comments yet

Leave a comment