Skip to content

No TV.

August 12, 2011

Ok, I have been home for 11 days now, and I’ve spent a lot of my time at home watching TV.

Maybe that’s because this is the first real break I am getting after more than 7 months (first I had the spring semester going on, and then my summer internship started literally two days after my final exam) – maybe that’s making me feel as if I deserve it, in some twisted sense? I’ve just realized though that there’s better stuff I could be doing. Stupid and obvious realization, right? Heck, even procrastinating on my computer (blogging, reading, Twitter-ing) is more productive than watching TV.

So I have decided to do something pretty drastic (for me). I am saying no to TV, for the 20 days or so I have left at home before I fly-off for fall semester.

No TV doesn’t just mean no TV on my home television set – that’s just saying no to the usual HBO, Star Movies, Star World culprits. No TV also means no TV on my computer. That is going to be a big deal – no Daily Show. No Chuck. No White Collar. No Cramer. No HIMYM. No Seinfeld, even. Yes, I see you judging me right there.

I am not going to turn off the TV when someone else is watching – but whenever I see the opportunity or feel the urge to turn the TV set on myself or to browse to a TV show’s website, I am going to try to divert myself to something, anything more constructive.

It’s going to be hard, and it’s easier said than done. But we won’t get this summer back – so I’ll give it my best shot.

P.S. Youtube videos are not included, of course.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

